top of page

Computer Aided Music 

Since the 2000s, the digital world has offered us infinite possibilities for creating varied sound universes from real and virtual instruments, samples, sound synthesis and various tools to shape, sculpt, color sound. 

Although music theory is sometimes useful, learning computer music can be done intuitively without theoretical knowledge of music theory or an instrument. The sound creation on DAW (Ableton Live, Cubase, FL,...) is however vast and complex. It requires a large perseverance for  understand how the DAW works  as well as a good knowledge of the tools and the composition of a sound.

Many people stop along the way, discouraged by the amount of information they have to take in before they can make a "good sound". But a sound professional quality can now be crafted at home with minimal materials!

To start, a computer, a DAW and a good monitoring system are enough to create very rich and complex songs. The possibilities of creating different combinations with additional equipment are very varied: synthesizers, sequencers, drum machines, real/virtual instruments, turntables, sound banks, controllers midi, inexpensive effects etc.

The tools provided by certain computer programs (plugins) which are sophisticated and inexpensive for the most part, allow us to learn different sound sculpting techniques in a very personal form. Learning computer music is therefore enriching in a multitude of aspects, which we discover over the course of our projects and allow us to make our ideas real!

bottom of page

top of page

Musique assistée par ordinateur (MAO)

Depuis les années 2000, le numérique nous offre des possibilités infinies dans la création d'univers sonores variés à partir d'instruments réels et virtuels, samples, synthèse sonore et divers outils permettant de façonner, sculpter, colorer le son. 

Bien que la théorie musicale soit parfois utile, l'apprentissage de la MAO peut se faire de façon intuitive sans connaissance théorique de solfège ou d'un instrument. La création sonore sur DAW (Ableton Live, Cubase, FL,...) est cependant un univers vaste et complexe. Elle nécessite une grande persévérance pour  comprendre le fonctionnement du DAW ainsi qu'une bonne connaissance des outils et de la composition d'un son.

Nombreux sont ceux qui s'arrêtent en chemin, découragés par la masse d'informations qu'ils doivent intégrer avant de pouvoir faire un "bon son". Mais un son professionnel de qualité peut maintenant être élaboré à la maison avec un minimum de matériel!

Pour commencer, un ordinateur, un DAW et un bon système d'écoute suffisent pour élaborer des morceaux très riches et complexes. Les possibilités de créer différentes combinaisons avec du matériel additionnel sont très variées: synthétiseurs, séquenceurs, boîtes à rythme, instruments réels/virtuels, platines, banques de sons, contrôleurs midi, effets peu coûteux etc.

Les outils que nous procurent certains programmes informatiques (plugins) sophistiqués et peu onéreux pour la plupart, permettent d'apprendre différentes techniques de sculpture du son sous une forme très personnelle. L'apprentissage de la MAO est donc enrichissant dans une multitude d'aspects, que l'on découvre au fil de nos projets et nous permettent de rendre nos idées réelles!

bottom of page